intermission

When registered as a full time student, even if intermitting, one is not permitted to claim JSA (Jobseeker’s Allowance) or ESA (Employment and Support Allowance).  This is ridiculous.  Many students intermit, for many different reasons, and nearly all reasons are valid ones.  When intermitting, a student receives none of the funding usually allocated to them, be it a grant, a loan or a monthly scholarship allowance.  Now, this presumes that there is a fallback, that every student, mature or otherwise, has a family or similar to go to for, not only accomodation but also financial support for such basic things as travel or toiletries.  The other option, of course, is to quit the course.

I. Am. Lucky.

I have parents to go to.  I will have shelter.  I will have food.  I will not have: bus fair; conditioner; money to go out; means of getting to job interviews; money for non-necessities; money for a pre-interview coffee (for example); my usual excess of items of stationery; anything not required to live, basically.

But AT LEAST I DO HAVE the things required to live.

What in the name of a string of expletives would I do if I did not?????????

Leave a Reply

