The Bipolar Support Group

Obviously, I can’t actually disclose any details here.  But I can say that it was really nice to have an open, honest discussion with people experiencing bipolar and their loved ones.  I didn’t say a lot- it was my first time and I wanted to get to know the group dynamics before I jumped in and started talking.  

It was my first “group” thing since I was fifteen and  I wasn’t sure whether I would enjoy it or not.  I wondered whether the whole thing might be a giant embarrassment with people using catch-phrases and psychobabble.  It wasn’t.  It was just a group of people getting together to talk about experiences shared, and experiences that have been different.

8 thoughts on “The Bipolar Support Group

  1. I’ve been thinking about looking into a ‘group’ as well….I’m not so sure because i also deal w/social phobia/anxiety. Really limits me on resources that i can utilize….it’s been a hell of a day & I’m glad to know you took a step forward & got into a group…Kudos to you….I know how hard it can be at times.

  2. I attend a group too, it always amazes me when someone says something and I can relate to it. It makes me feel less alone and the people are so kind and caring. I’m glad you had a good experience.

Leave a Reply

