30 Days: Day 5

Do you believe nature (biology/physiology), nurture(environment), a mix, or something else has an impact on mental health?

I believe that to some degree, my mental health problems were inborn.  Even as a child, I displayed symptoms which later developed and came to play a significant role in my day-to-day life.  For example, from the age of 9 I was convinced that I was being watched by invisible cameras.  As I grew older, the belief grew with me.  Partially due to the “cameras” I was hospitalised at 14.

The early development of symptoms lead me to understand my bipolar disorder as, in a sense, inevitable.  Something was always going to happen.  I remember being told in hospital at 14, that if my self-harm and mood were not trauma related, they were a “warning sign”.  I believe that now.

In terms of nurture, there was nothing significant in my family life that would account for my mental health problems.  I do recognise, however, that some events outside my home life may have triggered something that was already there.

I think that the fact that chemical treatment has proved the most effective in improving my life, proves that a chemical imbalance of some sort has affected my mental health.  I would never come off the meds in exchange for “talking therapies” for example, because I do not feel that these would be adequate on their own for treating bipolar disorder.

2 thoughts on “30 Days: Day 5

  1. I agree with not getting off my meds for alternatives. There may be something out there that works better, but I can’t tale that chance.

Leave a Reply

