“I Learned to Live Half Alive”

 

“But I don’t have any of the symptoms of EUPD except the self-harm.”

“So what is the self-harm about, do you think?”

 

It’s something I have lived with for a long time.  It’s a parasite the sizes of my shadow: sometimes small and unthreatening, sometimes too huge to avoid.  Like a shadow, I can hold it beneath my feet and sometimes that is enough to control it.  But whatever I do, I can’t rid myself of it, I can’t peel it from my soles, I can’t lose it.  It’s still there beneath my toes, wishing that it could be freed from under them, the way I wish I could be unstuck from above it. 

But like a shadow, I don’t know what life would be like without it.

2 thoughts on ““I Learned to Live Half Alive”

Leave a Reply

