The Swinging Doors

This time last week, I wanted to be dead.  This time this week, I am glad that I’m alive.  What changed?  Well the meds kicked back in, for a start and probably most importantly.  But also importantly, I’ve been surrounded by people who just won’t let me fall  through the cracks, who have got me out for coffee, and called me, and taken me to appointments, and made me feel comfortable.  They’ve made me feel like I’m worth being around. Company can’t stop you being depressed, distraction can’t last forever.  Underneath the smiles the throb of despair still presses against your gums.  But sometimes knowing that people are around you makes a big difference.  I do feel different, today.

4 thoughts on “The Swinging Doors

Leave a Reply

