Running

Lack of confidence and a bad ankle had stopped me from running, or even wanting to run, for a long time but at the same time I really missed it.  Inspired and encouraged by my girlfriend, the day before yesterday I went running for the first time in almost a year.  I stopped a few times, I walked a few times and I got horrendously lost which slowed me down no end!    I was using my girlfriend’s Garmin to measure how far and fast I was running.  Not realising that it was set to calculate in miles rather than kilometres, I was really upset with my time.  When I had been set straight, I felt so relieved- 4.6k in 31 minutes.

Yesterday, with the wind on my face and the rain coming through my shoelace-holes, I felt inspired to run that little bit faster.  After a little way, I checked my pedometer and was surprised to find I had run a lot farther and faster than I expected.  I decided to aim at a 29 minute 5k.  I ran through the park, with intervals of sprinting.  Then I wound up and down the pavements, past schoolkids and bus stops and shops and unexpectedly, I didn’t care how I looked or who was watching.  I just wanted to run.  At the end of the run, I found I had done 5.25k in 26″08.  It felt amazing.  Now I have been instructed to rest for a few days.  All I want to do is run, but I know that if I am going to recover the strength in my ankle, I am going to have to be patient.

Leave a Reply

