Lent 2015

I haven’t written much at all lately and I’ve been wondering why.  It isn’t for want of things happening in my life.  But I fear that I have nothing substantial to say.  Even writing this feels like a bit of a cheat.  Writing about not knowing not to write is so overdone, it feels kind of funny to be doing it.  But the only way to get over writer’s block, I guess, is to keep writing.

For Lent I’ve been writing a short story a day, 150 words each.  Except the odd one, that develops and grows longer.  That really helps with getting ideas flowing and getting me thinking about new characters to inhabit, new ways to express ideas.  The word limit is both restricting and liberating.  I feel like it’s been enhancing my creativity for the last seven days.  I’m really hoping it encourages me to blog more, too.

I’ve also given up junk food for Lent, and taken up drinking 1.5 litres of water a day.  My reasoning is that I want to feel like I’ve achieved something by the end of these six weeks.  It’s one thing to give things up- I’ve done that nearly every year since I can remember- but to do something positive in its place is trickier.  I think it’s important to set yourself targets, whether that be through New Year’s Resolutions, weekly goals or even daily challenges.  We can only live one day at a time after all, so maybe every day is a daily challenge.

2 thoughts on “Lent 2015

  1. One day at a time. I find that setting daily, weekly, monthly, yearly target is a great thing especially on days when even my breathing feels slow. Great essay.

Leave a Reply

