Hopeful

Looking at my WordPress stats over the last year, I can see that one of my most popular posts is the one in which I give the number on which you can text the Samaritans.  The Samaritans are a telephone listening service in the UK, often associated with suicide prevention.

Every single time I get a view on that post, I feel hopeful.  Hopeful that it has helped someone to reach out.  Hopeful that someone, somewhere, has been able to contact the Samaritans in a way that they feel comfortable with.

I know there are pros and cons to calling or otherwise contacting a listening service.  I know it sometimes helps and sometimes doesn’t.  I’ve both worked for one, and called some.  But sometimes the very act of reaching out can let you feel less alone.

I know some people who read my post will never pick up that phone… but some will.  I hope that they find what they need.

Leave a Reply

